Location PDF Print E-mail


The Northern Cape is one of the nine provinces of the Republic of South Africa.
It has by far the biggest land mass of all the provinces, being more than ten times the size of Gauteng, its highveld counterpart or thrice the size of the new Federal German Republic. It covers 29.7% of South Africa's land surface at 361,830 square km (Gauteng 1.4% or 17,010 square km) (Stats SA-2000).

The Northern Cape is bounded by the Atlantic Ocean on the west, Namibia and Botswana to its north west and north respectively. It is fringed by the Swartberg mountain range on its southern border with the Western Cape province in the Calvinia district.





Related Links